List of NCAA Division I men’s basketball champions

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament is a single-elimination Championship for men’s college basketball teams in America.

It decides the champion of Division I, the very best level of play in the NCAA, and the press frequently describes the winner because the national winner of college basketball. [2][3] The NCAA Tournament has been held annually since 1939, and its field climbed from eight teams in the start to sixty-five teams from 2001; instead of 2011, sixty-eight teams take part in the tournament. Teams may gain invitations by winning a conference tournament or getting an at-large bidding from a 10-person committee. The semifinals of this tournament are called the Final Four and are held in a different city each year, along with the championship game; Indianapolis, the city where the NCAA is established, will host the Final Four every five years until 2040. Each winning college receives a rectangular, gold-plated trophy made from wood.
The first NCAA Tournament was coordinated by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. Oregon won the inaugural tournament, defeating Ohio State 46–33 in the first championship game. Ahead of the 1941 championship, command of this event was provided to the NCAA. In the early years of this championship, it was considered less important than the National Invitation Tournament (NIT), a New York City-based event. ] Teams could compete in both events at precisely the exact same calendar year, and three of those that did so–Utah in 1944, Kentucky in 1949, and City College of New York (CCNY) at 1950–won the NCAA Championship. The 1949–50 CCNY team won both championships (defeating Bradley in both finals), and is the only college basketball team to do this feat. [14] By the mid-1950s, the NCAA Championship became the more prestigious of both occasions, and in 1971 the NCAA barred universities from playing other championships, like the NIT, when they had been invited into the NCAA Tournament. The 2013 championship won by Louisville was the first men’s basketball national title to be vacated by the NCAA following the school and its trainer at the time, Rick Pitino, were implicated in a 2015 sex scandal involving recruits.
The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) has been the most successful faculty from the NCAA Tournament, winning 11 national titles. Ten of those championships came through a 12-year stretch from 1964 to 1975. UCLA also holds the record for the successive championships, winning seven in a row from 1967 to 1973. Kentucky has the second-most names, together with eight. North Carolina is third with six championships, while Duke and Indiana follow five each. Virginia is the latest champion, having defeated Texas Tech in the final of this 2019 tournament. Among head trainers, John Wooden is the one time leader with 10 championships; he coached UCLA during their period of success in the 1960s and 1970s. Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski is second all-time with five names.

Read more: