List of NBA champions

The National Basketball Association (NBA) Finals is the championship series for the NBA and the end of its postseason. All Finals Are played in a best-of-seven format, and therefore are contested between the champions of their Eastern Conference and the Western Conference (formerly Divisions before 1970), except in 1950 when the Eastern Division winner confronted the winner between the Western and Central Division winners. By 1946 through 1949, when the league was called the Basketball Association of America (BAA), the playoffs were a three-stage tournament where the two semifinal winners played each other in the finals. [1][2][3] the series’ team receives the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy.
The current home-and-away format in the NBA Finals is 2–2–1–1–1 (the group with the superior regular-season record plays in their home court in Games 1, 2, 5, and 7), that has been utilized at 1947–1948, 1950–1952, 1957–1970, 1972–1974, 1976–1977, 1979–1984, and 2014–present. It was formerly in a 2–3–2 format (the team with the better regular season record plays on their home court in Games 1, 2, 6, and 7) during 1949, 1953–1955, and 1985–2013,[4][5][6][7][8][9] at a 1–1–1–1–1– 1 — 1 1–1 structure during 1956 and 1971, respectively [10][11] and in a 1–2–2–1–1 — 1 format throughout 1975 and 1978. [12][13]
The Eastern Conference/Division leads the Western Conference/Division in string won (39–34). The defunct Central Division, when the existing Eastern Division was upgraded as a conference, in presence throughout the 1949 — 50 NBA year when the NBA was split into three divisions and separate from the current Central Division made in 1970, won one championship. The Minneapolis/Los Angeles Lakers and the Boston Celtics alone possess nearly half of those names, having won a joint 33 of 73 championships. The defending champions are, as of 2019.
See more: